• Text Hover

All-Round Protection With the Emergency Home Owners and Renters Insurance from Livy Plus

An emergency home owners and renters insurance is your insurance in case of damage or breakdowns within your own four walls. In addition to home owners insurance, the costs for locksmith, emergency tradesmen and even alternative accommodation are covered. The advantages of Livy Plus: You are not bound to take out a home owners insurance policy and can manage everything conveniently via the app.

 
Breakdowns can always happen at home - whether you accidentally lock yourself out when taking out the household rubbish or your heating system refuses to work on a cold winter weekend. This is annoying, but it's not the end of the world. The worst thing about it is the costs you have to face after the short-term tradesmen's work, which can put a decent hole in your wallet, especially on weekends and in the evening hours.
With the Livy Plus Emergency Home Owners and Renters Insurance, you no longer have to worry about this. The insurance covers the full costs of (handicraft) emergency services up to an annual maximum amount depending on the scope of benefits.
 
How it all works and which different insurance packages you can choose from are explained in the following sections.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

What is an emergency home owners and renters insurance house and what distinguishes it from household insurance?

An emergency homeowners and renters insurance is usually taken out as a supplement to household insurance. This is because although the household insurance covers all the valuables in an apartment or house against damage through no fault of your own, the costs of repairing the damage are often not covered. 

For example, in the event of water damage, the household insurance normally reimburses the replacement value of the damaged home furnishings or electrical appliances; on the other hand, you will have to pay for the costs of using craftsmen to remedy the cause of the problem yourself. 

This is where the emergency home owners and renters insurance  comes into play. With this additional insurance, you protect yourself against high costs that arise as a result of the emergency deployment of tradesmen. This pays off especially if you need their help outside of regular working hours, e.g. on weekends, holidays, or at night, which can be very costly. 
  • Text Hover
The different packages of Livy Plus Home Cover are designed to suit your individual living conditions. Depending on your living situation, you can take out an emergency insurance either as a tenant or an owner. And, unlike most other providers, you can also take out Livy Plus Home Cover completely independent from a normal homeowners insurance

  • Text Hover

When is an emergency homeowners and renters insurance worthwhile?

It is in the nature of things, that it cannot be predicted whether taking out insurance will ever pay off for the insured. In the best case, you live completely without accidents and never have to file a claim. If, however, you are standing in front of a locked door due to forgetting your keys, it can be very reassuring to know that you do not have to pay the costs for the locksmith out of your own pocket. 
You can choose between basic and premium protection, which differ in some service details and the annual coverage amount. The prices of Livy Plus Home Cover are designed to keep the financial burden as low as possible. They range between 15 Euro (basic cover for tenants) and 25 Euro (premium cover for the home) per year. 

In return, costs of up to 300 euros and up to 3 times per year for basic cover  and up to 500 euros and up to 3 times per year for premium cover are covered - and all this without any deductible. So you should already have made up a multiple of the annual premiums if you take out insurance cover even once. 
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

What does the Livy Plus Emergency Homeowners and Renters Insurance offer? 

First of all, a note: there are no significant differences between a home protection letter and a home protection certificate (a "Hauschutzbrief" and a "Wohnungsschutzbrief"). The distinction is only made because some cases of damage are much more likely to occur in houses than in apartments. These possible damages are accordingly covered by a home protection certificate for owner-occupied homes, which also explains the slight price differences in the premiums.

The emergency insurance offers you the following services as standard:

• 24-hour emergency service by telephone and in the Livy App
• Locksmith (door opening and temporary lock)
• Cleaning of clogged pipes
• Repair and spare parts costs for problems with the electrical installation in the apartment or house 
• Temporary security after attempted or successful break-ins 
• Covering return travel costs if a holiday has to be prematurely terminated due to a case of damage 

In addition, the following services are covered:

• Replacement of plumbing parts that have caused problems with the water supply
• Costs of repair and spare parts for defective heating systems

In the premium version, you receive the following additional services:

• Leakage location in case of water damage
• Cost coverage for an emergency heating system in case of damage to the main heating system
• Guard service after attempted or successful burglaries, if necessary
• Pest control (although normally the responsibility of the landlord)
• Emergency housing, hotel, childcare, pet care and cleaning service, if the apartment is initially uninhabitable after damage

What is not covered by the Livy Plus Emergency Home Owners and Renters Insurance?

In order to be able to make an informed decision as to whether an emergency home owners and renters insurance is something for you, you should also know which costs are not covered:

• Plumbing: Replacement of defective seals, worn accessories of fittings or boilers, proper maintenance and servicing of the installation
• Heating: Electricity costs for emergency heating
• Electrical: Repair of electrical appliances (washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, etc.)
• Costs exceeding the compensation limits of 300 euros (or 500 euros in the Premium Package) per insured event and 900 euros (or 1,500 euros in the Premium Package) in the entire insurance year
  • Text Hover

Is an emergency homeowners and renters insurance useful?

In most cases, the rental contract stipulates that tenants must pay for minor repair costs of up to 300 euros (sometimes up to 500 euros) themselves. In practice, this often concerns so-called minor repairs in the sanitary area, such as pipe cleaning or the replacement of decrepit fittings. If you find such a clause in your tenancy agreement, it makes sense to have a home protection certificate, as it covers exactly this range and the repair costs are reimbursed in case of an emergency.

For homeowners, an emergency insurance offers even more security, as they are almost always on their own. Here it is important to look carefully at the scope of benefits of an existing homeowners insurance in order to avoid double protection.

In view of the fact that you also benefit from 24-hour emergency service, which in the event of a claim will put you in touch with competent specialist companies in your area and ensure that any restrictions for you and your family are kept to a minimum, an emergency homeowners and renters insurance is a worthwhile additional insurance. 

More Information About Home Cover

Something went wrong at home? Help is only a click away with the Livy App.


Learn more

Do you know the Livy Smart Ring?

Safe, simple and modern: the Smart Ring combines various intelligent functions into one device. Thanks to the integrated motion detector, smart smoke detection and WLAN module, the Smart Ring offers comprehensive fire and burglary protection for your home.


Tell me more

Tips for burglary protection

What really scares burglars away? Click here for the answer and 5 burglar protection tips on burglary protection.


Tell me more

• Text Hover

Rundum abgesichert mit dem Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief von Livy Plus

Ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief ist deine Absicherung bei Schäden und Pannen in den eigenen vier Wänden. Über die Hausratversicherung hinaus werden die Kosten für Schlüsseldienst, Notfallhandwerker und sogar Ausweichquartiere übernommen. Die Vorteile von Livy Plus: Du bist nicht an den Abschluss einer Hausratversicherung gebunden und kannst alles bequem über die App verwalten.

Pannen können sich zu Hause immer ereignen – ob du dich beim Rausbringen des Hausmülls versehentlich aussperrst oder deine Heizung an einem kalten Winterwochenende den Dienst verweigert. Das ist ärgerlich, aber kein Weltuntergang. Das Schlimmste daran sind die Kosten, die nach den kurzfristigen Handwerkereinsätzen auf dich zukommen, und die vor allem am Wochenende und in den Abendstunden ein ordentliches Loch ins Portemonnaie reißen.
Mit dem Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief von Livy Plus musst du dir darum keine Sorgen mehr machen. Die Versicherung übernimmt die vollen Kosten für (handwerkliche) Notdienste bis zu einem vom Leistungsumfang abhängigen jährlichen Maximalbetrag.

Wie das Ganze funktioniert und welche verschiedenen Versicherungspakete dir zur Wahl stehen, erfährst du in den folgenden Abschnitten.
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

Was ist ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief und was unterscheidet ihn von einer Hausratversicherung?

Ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief wird üblicherweise als Ergänzung zur Hausratversicherung abgeschlossen. Das liegt daran, dass die Hausratversicherung zwar sämtliche Wertgegenstände in einer Wohnung oder einem Haus gegen unverschuldete Beschädigung absichert, dass aber die Kosten für die Behebung des Schadens oft nicht mit abgedeckt sind. 

So erstattet die Hausratversicherung im Normalfall bei einem Wasserschaden den Wiederbeschaffungswert der beschädigten Wohnungseinrichtung oder Elektrogeräte; für die Kosten des Handwerkereinsatzes zur Behebung der Ursache musst du hingegen selber aufkommen. 
An dieser Stelle kommt der Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief ins Spiel. Mit dieser Zusatzversicherung sicherst du dich gegen hohe Kosten ab, die infolge des Notfalleinsatzes von Handwerkern entstehen. Das macht sich besonders bezahlt, wenn du deren Hilfe außerhalb der regulären Arbeitszeiten, z. B. am Wochenende, an Feiertagen oder in der Nacht in Anspruch nehmen musst, was mit besonders hohen Extrakosten verbunden ist. 
  • Text Hover
Die verschiedenen Pakete von Livy Plus Home Cover sind auf deine individuellen Lebensbedingungen ausgerichtet. Entsprechend deiner Wohnsituation kannst du einen Wohnungsschutzbrief oder einen Hausschutzbrief für Mieter oder Eigentümer abschließen. Und anders als bei den meisten anderen Anbietern kannst du den Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief von Livy Plus auch völlig unabhängig von einer Hausratversicherung abschließen. 
  • Text Hover

Wann lohnt sich ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief?

Es liegt in der Natur der Sache, dass sich nicht vorhersehen lässt, ob sich der Abschluss einer Versicherung jemals für den Versicherten auszahlt. Im besten Fall lebst du ganz ohne Unfälle und musst die Leistungen niemals in Anspruch nehmen. Wenn du aber aufgrund einer Unachtsamkeit doch mal vor der zugefallenen Haus- bzw. Wohnungstür stehst, kann es sehr beruhigend sein zu wissen, dass du die Kosten für den Schlüsseldienst nicht aus eigener Tasche bezahlen musst. 
Du kannst zwischen einem Basis- und einem Premiumschutz wählen, die sich in einigen Leistungsdetails und der jährlichen Deckungssumme unterscheiden. Dabei sind die Preise von Livy Plus Home Cover so gestaltet, dass die finanzielle Belastung so gering wie möglich bleibt. Sie liegen jährlich zwischen 15 Euro (Basisschutz für Mieter) und 25 Euro (Premiumschutz für das Eigenheim). 

Dafür werden beim Basisschutz bis zu 3-mal pro Jahr Kosten bis zu 300 Euro und beim Premiumschutz bis zu 3-mal pro Jahr bis zu 500 Euro übernommen – und das ganz ohne Selbstbeteiligung. Du solltest also schon ein Vielfaches der Jahresbeiträge gutgemacht haben, wenn du auch nur ein einziges Mal die Versicherungsleistung in Anspruch nimmst. 
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover

Was bietet der Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief von Livy Plus? 

Zunächst ein Hinweis: Es gibt keine erheblichen Unterschiede zwischen einem Hausschutzbrief und einem Wohnungsschutzbrief. Die Unterscheidung wird nur gemacht, weil einige Schadensfälle in Häusern wesentlich wahrscheinlicher sind als in Wohnungen. Diese möglichen Schäden sind dementsprechend von einem Hausschutzbrief für Eigenheime mit abgedeckt, was gleichzeitig die geringfügigen Preisunterschiede der Beiträge erklärt.

Der Wohnungsschutzbrief bietet dir standardmäßig folgende Leistungen:

• 24-Stunden-Notfallservice telefonisch und in der Livy App
• Schlüsseldienst (Türöffnung und provisorisches Schloss)
• Reinigung von verstopften Rohren
• Reparatur- und Ersatzteilkosten bei Problemen mit der Elektroinstallation in Wohnung oder Haus
• Provisorische Sicherung nach versuchten oder erfolgreichen Einbrüchen
• Übernahme der Rückreisekosten, wenn ein Urlaub wegen eines Schadensfalls vorzeitig abgebrochen werden muss

Darüber hinaus sind im Hausschutzbrief folgende Leistungen abgesichert:

• Austausch von Sanitärteilen, die Probleme bei der Wasserzufuhr verursachen
• Reparatur- und Ersatzteilkosten bei defekten Heizungsanlagen

In der Premium-Variante erhältst du folgende zusätzliche Leistungen:

• Leckageortung bei Wasserschäden
• Kostenübernahme für eine Notheizung bei Schäden an der Heizungsanlage
• Bewachungsservice nach versuchten oder erfolgreichen Einbrüchen, falls erforderlich
• Schädlingsbekämpfung (normalerweise allerdings Sache des Vermieters)
• Notfallwohnung, Hotel, Kinderbetreuung, Haustierversorgung und Reinigungsservice, wenn die Wohnung nach einem Schaden zunächst unbewohnbar ist

Was deckt der Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief von Livy Plus nicht ab?

Um eine fundierte Entscheidung treffen zu können, ob ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief etwas für dich ist, solltest du allerdings auch wissen, welche Kosten nicht übernommen werden:

• Sanitär: Austausch defekter Dichtungen, verschlissener Zubehörteile von Armaturen oder Boilern, ordentliche Instandhaltung und Wartung der Installation
• Heizung: Stromkosten für Notheizung
• Elektrik: Reparatur von Elektrogeräten (Waschmaschine, Trockner, Spülmaschine etc.)
• Kosten, die über die Entschädigungsgrenzen von 300 Euro (bzw. 500 Euro im Premium-Paket) pro Versicherungsfall und 900 Euro (bzw. 1.500 Euro im Premium-Paket) im gesamten Versicherungsjahr hinausgehen
  • Text Hover

Ist ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief sinnvoll?

Für Mieter ist in den meisten Fällen im Mietvertrag festgelegt, dass sie für geringfügige Reparaturkosten in Höhe von bis zu 300 Euro (manchmal auch bis zu 500 Euro) selbst aufkommen müssen. In der Praxis betrifft das häufig sogenannte Kleinreparaturen im Sanitärbereich, wie etwa Rohrreinigung oder den Austausch von altersschwachen Armaturen. Wenn du eine solche Klausel in deinem Mietvertrag findest, ist ein Wohnungsschutzbrief also durchaus sinnvoll, da er genau diese Spanne abdeckt und die Reparaturkosten im Notfall erstattet werden.

Für Hauseigentümer bietet der Abschluss eines Hausschutzbriefes sogar noch mehr Sicherheit, da sie im Zweifelsfall immer auf sich allein gestellt sind. Hier gilt es nur, sich vorher genau mit dem Leistungsumfang einer bereits vorhandenen Hausratversicherung zu beschäftigen, um einen doppelten Schutz zu vermeiden.

In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass du zusätzlich von einem 24-Stunden-Notfallservice profitierst, der dir im Schadensfall kompetente Fachfirmen in deiner Nähe vermittelt und sich darum kümmert, dass eventuelle Einschränkungen für dich und deine Familie so gering wie möglich bleiben, ist ein Haus- und Wohnungsschutzbrief eine lohnenswerte Zusatzabsicherung. 

Weitere Informationen über Home Cover

Zuhause ist was schief gelaufen? Hilfe ist nur einen Klick entfernt mit der Livy App.


Mehr erfahren

Kennst du schon den Livy Smart Ring?

Sicher, einfach und modern: der Smart Ring vereint verschiedene intelligente Funktionen in einem Gerät. Dank des integrierten Bewegungsmelders, der smarten Raucherkennung und des WLAN-Moduls bietet der Smart Ring umfassenden Brand- und Einbruchsschutz für dein Zuhause.


Mehr erfahren

Tipps zur Einbruchsicherung

Was schreckt Einbrecher wirklich ab? Hier bekommst du die Antwort und 5 Tipps zum Einbruchschutz für ein sicheres Zuhause.


Mehr erfahren